S.D. Harvey Award

Kennedy Foundation hosts prestigious S.D. Harvey Short Crime Story Award

The winner of the 2020 S.D Harvey Award will be revealed at the second annual Kennedy lecture dinner sponsored and hosted by Bar M Rushcutters Bay at a date to be confirmed after this year’s NRMA Kennedy Awards.

Finalists will be announced at the NRMA Kennedy Awards for Excellence in Journalism at Royal Randwick, originally scheduled for August 7, but the date for the gala will be confirmed when time and and social distancing restrictions permit.


Kennedy Foundation again hosts the
S.D. Harvey Short Crime Story Award

Monday, May 18 2020

The Kennedy Foundation is delighted to announce it will host the 111h S. D. Harvey Short Crime Story Award in conjunction with the second Kennedy Lecture dinner expected to be held in September 2020.

Entries from writers and journalists around Australia are welcome to enter the S. D. Harvey Short Crime Story Award for 2020 which is now open. Full details are here.

Sandra Harvey was an outstanding print journalist and television producer as well as author and co-author of five true crime books. With long-time collaborator Lindsay Simpson she won the Australian Crime Writers Association (ACWA) Lifetime Achievement Award in 2007.

The S. D. Harvey Short Crime Story Award recognizes excellence in this genre of writing, either fiction or non-fiction, and especially welcomes entries from journalists. This year’s award marks the 11th time the award has been offered since Sandra’s death at 49 in 2008.

It will be presented to the winner at the second annual Kennedy Lecture dinner, ahead of the speech by the Kennedy Awards’ Journalist of the Year at Bar M (formerly Bar Machiavelli) in Rushcutters Bay at a date to be confirmed.

Kennedy Foundation chairman Mr Rocco Fazzari said the foundation was again honoured to be hosting the S. D. Harvey Award.

“Sandra Harvey was a superb and well-respected journalist who worked with Les Kennedy at Australian Associated Press, and later at the Sydney Morning Herald and the ABC’s Four Corners as well as a long period as a policy adviser for former NSW Police Minister Paul Whelan.” Mr Fazzari said.

“Her first love was storytelling either through broadcast, newsprint or books … her career highlighted the versatility of journalism as well as the creative ways in which crime stories can be told.”

The S. D. Harvey Short Crime Story Award, formerly run by ACWA as one of the Ned Kelly Awards, again offers entrants the opportunity to produce a ripping yarn this time in either fiction or non-fiction (creative non-fiction or long-form journalism) in 3000–5000 words. Entries must embody the art of storytelling and be well structured with good literary prose and dialogue and a tight plot.

The prize will include a day trip for two aboard the Providence V, a classic schooner based in the Whitsundays, QLD, offered by the award sponsor, Providence Sailing.

Entries of PDF versions of printed work to the S. D. Harvey Short Crime Story Award can be made until close of business on July 1, 2020 via kennedyawardsjudging@gmail.com

In line with all other Kennedy Awards, a tax-deductible entry fee of $50 applies when registering here.

Finalists will be announced at the Kennedy Awards, to be staged Friday November 6th.  

The names of the three finalists will be added to the S. D. Harvey Award page on the Kennedy Awards website thereafter.

 Media inquiries: Lindsay Simpson 0408 278 417.