Categories – 2018 Entry & Conditions


Thanks for supporting the 7th Annual NRMA Kennedy Awards.

This 2018 gala ceremony will be held at the Royal Randwick Grand Ballroom on Friday August 10. 

Enter your work for judging by 6pm July 1 by CLICKING HERE  for any material broadcast or published between July 1, 2017 and June 30, 2018.


The entry fee is not for a gala ticket, and helps cover the Kennedy Foundation’s administration costs. There is no limit to the number of entries, as long as each one is registered separately.

Entry is tax deductible donation to the Kennedy Foundation of $40 for every unrelated item of work.

Entry for a series of (maximum five) related stories is also $40

Once registration is complete, entries must be emailed to and include links, audio files, pdfs and photos, a recent photograph of the entrant and supporting statement.

In the categories of Most Outstanding Radio Current Affairs and Audio Blog an edited compilation of relevant material broadcast can be entered, and should not exceed two minutes in duration.

The criteria for Outstanding Columnist requires a maximum five of the entrant’s best columns across a variety of subjects.

For Journalist of the Year, Best Columnist, Political Reporting, Young Journalist of the Year and Racing Writer you are able to enter a body of work up to a maximum of five pieces under a single $40 entry.

Young Journalist of the Year entrants qualify if they are yet to turn 27 by June 30.

For all other entries competing against one’s self is allowed and an entry fee is applicable for each item of work submitted.

Entries in the Cliff Neville Award for Most Outstanding Team Player must be entered on behalf of the entrant, include a photo and a maximum 400 word supporting statement of the entrant’s cohesive and mentoring qualities.

For video entries we suggest you upload your video to or, if there is not an existing link to the piece. Dropbox is also a preferred option.



Your email to should include:

Subject line: ‘Award Entry’ &  the category name

Entrant’s name

Date of publication or broadcast

Place & publication/outlet

A maximum 400 word supporting statement.

A contemporary  photograph of the entrant.

Please note that any entry with more than three names as entrants will be regarded as a team entry, representing your organisation, program or publication.

Click HERE to enter via the Eventarc $40 registration page:  you can also purchase gala tickets at this site.

Award Categories and order of presentation

  1. Outstanding Crime Reporting
  2. Regional Broadcast Reporting
  3. Regional Newspaper Reporting
  4. NSW Racing Writer of The Year
  5. Outstanding Turf Reporting
  6. Outstanding Radio Reporting
  7. Outstanding Radio Current Affairs Reporting & Audio Blog
  8. Outstanding News Photography
  9. Outstanding Portrait
  10.  Outstanding Sports Photography
  11.  Outstanding Online Video
  12.  People’s Choice from Power of The Lens Exhibition
  13.  Team Player & Mentor
  14.  Outstanding Sport Reporting
  15.  Outstanding Travel Writing
  16.  Young Journalist of The Year
  17.  Lifetime Achievement
  18.  Indigenous Affairs Reporting
  19.  Outstanding News Camera Coverage
  20.  Outstanding Television News Reporting
  21.  Outstanding Television Current Affairs Reporting Long Form
  22.  Outstanding Nightly Television Current Affairs Reporting
  23.  Outstanding Finance Reporting
  24.  Outstanding Court Reporting
  25.  Outstanding Consumer Affairs Reporting
  26.  Outstanding Columnist
  27.  Outstanding Illustration or Cartoon
  28.  Outstanding Online News Breaking
  29.  Outstanding Reporting on the Environment
  30.  Scoop of the Year
  31.  Outstanding Investigative Reporting
  32.  Outstanding Feature Writing
  33.  Outstanding Political Reporting
  34.  Journalist of the Year


Judging Process and Entry Criteria

Three finalists in each category will be selected and the judging committee will choose the winner, recognising exceptional examples of ground breaking, gutsy and creative journalism, demonstrating a profound and enduring impact.

Judges will also take into account resources, research, preproduction, preparation, logistical challenges, public interest and community benefit.

Entrants are required to disclose any formal corrections, claims of plagiarism or legal proceedings related to the entry after its publication. By registering, the entrant attests to the originality of work and its compliance with copyright rules.

Dealing with Conflict of Interest in Judging

The Kennedy Awards strives to avoid the reality or perception of a conflict of interest that emerges in the judging process.  The judging committee comprises a selection of respected leaders in Australian journalism.

The Kennedy Awards Committee will monitor any potential for a personal or professional relationship to undermine the independence, fairness and objectivity of the judging process.

Judging the work of entrants from their own media organisation will not necessarily disqualify a judge.

Before the judging process begins each judge will be required to identify any potential conflict of interest and notify the organising committee, and the appropriate changes will be made if necessary.

Finalists will be posted on the Kennedy Awards website at the completion of a function to announce the finalists at The Crown Hotel in Sydney on the evening of Wednesday, July 25, 2018.

For details on individual awards category sponsorship opportunities & 2018 Kennedy Sponsorship Packages and contact: STEVE WARNOCK at or on 0424 407717


Leave a Reply